VENICE 72 – “perfect weather day”


Many years ago… In a galaxy far far away… Just kidding. But seriously. Many years ago I created a self-inflected rule to “NEVER live anywhere that gets colder than your age”. An absolutely brilliant theory if you’re 12. I’m 41, which pretty much means by the time I’m 60… I’ll be living down in Boca Raton, Florida playing bocce ball with Frank and Estelle Costanza.

Venice, Italy - "perfect weather day" - 72F - May 16, 2011

I’m really working hard (not really) to achieve a “glass is half-full” mentality; but, when it’s 8:30am on a Sunday morning in Austin, TX, with a projected high for the day of 103F (40C), and you find yourself saying (to yourself) “it’s too bloody hot to drink coffee!” then that’s a problem. For 2 reasons:

  1. You’re talking to yourself. Cuckoo! Cuckoo!
  2. It’s never too early, never too late, and there’s ALWAYS time for coffee in my world, so it sure as hell should NEVER be “too bloody hot to drink coffee”.
"perfect weather day"
VENICE, ITALY - "perfect weather day" - 72F
"The Gondolier" - Venice, Italy

If I can be random for a minute… I’ve never been a fan of bumper stickers. Just not my gig. Sure, I’ve got my Texas A&M University – Association of Former Students sticker on my back windshield; but, that’s a sticker. Plus, it looks decent. Go ahead and roundhouse kick me in the head if I ever put a “my child is better than your child” type sticker on my car, and I certainly don’t ever have the time (or energy) to advertise how much a political leader stinks. Now, after saying all that, I had to laugh out loud (LOL as the kids say) at my friend Janeen’s current Facebook profile picture. It’s the bumper sticker of my life! “DRINK COFFEE. Do Stupid Things Faster with More Energy”. Yeah, that’s me.

DRINK COFFEE: Do Stupid Things Faster with More Energy

So now that we’ve gone around the block to go next door… IT’S HOT! Not Africa hot. TEXAS hot. We’re talkin’ 103F! That’s about 40C for my friends around the world on the metric system. I could easily go off on another tangent about “why America isn’t on the metric system with the other 95% of the world” but, I’ll spare you the boredom. Plus, that would mean I’d have to actually know the answer. Which I don’t.Wait… yes I do. MONEY. Costs too much to change everything out for 300 million people. Done.

Venice Italy - "original Venice walking tour"

Getting back to the “glass is half-full” conversation… I tried to look at the positive side of life. Unlike the temporary coma conversation with the Canadians (see Archived blog entry – AUSTIN: Hometown Cravings!), this time… I was fully aware of my surroundings. Primarily due to a 3.5yr old asking me “Daddy why don’t you have hair?” and whether or not he could have pancakes for breakfast. So as I’m “listening” to the boy discuss why he’s the fastest runner in his school, and how he doesn’t care too much for the way that research is currently being conducted on sub-atomic particles, I went to a place called VENEZIA. For my fellow English speaking brothers and sisters… VENICE, ITALY.

"Blue Skies... Nothin' But Blue Skies" - St Mark's Square - Venice, Italy

May 16th, 2011. The day after our 5yr Wedding Anniversary. My wife and I drove from Lake Bled, Slovenia to Villach, Austria. 3hrs later via first class coach bus… Venezia, Italia! If you ask me – What does a “perfect weather day” look like? Without hesitation… my first answer will now always be – Venice, Italy – 72F (22C) – May 16th, 2011. Perfetto!

Anna in Venice, Italy

This is typically where I try to think of something witty and intelligent to say. I’ve got nothin’, so I’ll just shut my mouth, stop blogging, and let you enjoy the photos of what I consider my “perfect weather day” in Venice, Italy. Or as I like to call it my… “glass is half-full” Significant Achievement Award. Austin 103 – Venezia 72.  Score may not reflect it; But, today… Venice wins!

Life on the Grand Canal - Venice, Italy
Gondolas on The Grand Canal - Venice, Italy

What does a “perfect weather day” look like for you?

Check out more photos on my Flickr page – VENICE ITALY May 2011

Until then… Join the Conversation! I would LOVE to get your feedback!


TRAVEL | EXPLORE | DREAM | DISCOVER

The Rialto - Venice, Italy - "perfetto!"
View of Grand Canal from The Rialto Bridge - Venice, Italy
Afternoon by The Rialto - Venice, Italy
"Hidden Canals" - Venice, Italy
St Mark's Cathedral - Venice, Italy
Late Afternoon on the Grand Canal - Venice, Italy
Leaving San Marco - Venezia, Italia
Venice, Italy - May 2011
"Laundry Day" - Venice, Italy
Pasta Anyone? - Venice, Italy
Piazza San Marco (St. Mark's Square) - Venice, Italy
Venezia, Italia - "perfect weather day"
Venice, Italy - MAY 2011

TRAVEL | EXPLORE | DREAM | DISCOVER

One thought on “VENICE 72 – “perfect weather day””

Comments are closed.